top of page
  • Lee Ann Hargrave

National Mutt's Day


National Mutt's Day (aka National Mixed Breed Dog Day) was created in 2005 by Celebrity Pet & Family Lifestyle Expert and Animal Welfare Advocate, Colleen Paige. It is a day to embracing, celebrating and saving mixed breed dogs. There are many mixed breed dogs that are abandoned and euthanized due to overbreeding and the public's need for pure-breed dogs.

This special day was created to be celebrated on two dates per year (July 31st and December 2nd), to raise awareness of the plight of mixed breed dogs in shelters across our nation. Approximately 80% of all dogs in shelters are mixed breed. Mixed breeds tend to be healthier, better behaved, and live longer. They are also well suited to be bomb sniffing, search and rescue and leading the blind just as well and in many cases better than a pure breed dogs.

One of our country's most famous mixed breed dogs is Benji, a mixed breed terrier. There were also many more mixed breed dogs that were famous, including Sinbad (Rottweiler), Laika (first dog in space), Bobbie the Wonder Dog (travelled 2551 miles to return to his master's home, and Spike (old Yeller). These dogs have performed very well and their talents earned them fame.

So, please visit your local shelter and find your family a new member. If you can't visit the shelter on either of those days, donate $5 to your shelter. They can all use your help. Make a donation in memory of your favorite pets who have crossed the Rainbow Bridge. You can also volunteer to walk a dog, donate food, or other supplies needed at your local animal shelter.

Lee Ann Hargrave, Guest Writer

I'm a retired bookkeeper after 20 years of employment. I've worked in a few different situations. The first was a public accounting firm (5 years), then an investment firm (3 years) and finally an office supply store (10 years). My experience is very diverse. I found myself being asked by my daughter to help her be a single parent and move in with her and my granddaughter.

Now I write and post blogs and forums online for money as well as a couple of micro jobs. My daughter is helping support me so I am always looking for the next new job.

They say that writing more often will give you more experience and better writing in return. I am looking forward to working with any of you that need my services whether it is bookkeeping or writing. You can contact me about my writing services via my Simbi Profile.

0 comments
bottom of page